Prospective StudentsInternational StudentCurrent StudentProa Portal

NMC Staff Members Elect New Staff Senators (September 22, 2013)

Staff members at the Northern Marianas College recently elected new members to its Staff Senate.

The Staff Senate serves as the official representative body of the College’s administrative and support staff. Primarily focused on addressing general staff issues and in making corresponding recommendations to the NMC president, the Senate is an important part of the College’s participative governance structure.

Part of the Staff Senate’s responsibilities includes assisting in determining the need for, initiating and developing, and reviewing policies that affect the staff.

The Staff Senate has nine members: four members are elected at-large by the staff assembly, and the staff of each of the College’s major divisions (Academic Programs and Services, Student Services, Administration and Resource Development, Finance and Administrative Services, and the President’s Office).

The new Staff Senate officers and members are:

  1. Mr. Floyd Masga - President
  2. Ms. Kathy Palacios - Vice President
  3. Ms. Novelyn Tenorio - Secretary/Treasurer
  4. Ms. Daisie Camacho - Senator (Representing President's Division)
  5. Ms. Irene Tudela - Senator (Representing Student Services)
  6. Ms. Lisa Hacskaylo - Senator (At-Large Representative)
  7. Ms. Nadia Camacho - Senator (At-Large Representative)
  8. Ms. Shirley Blas - Senator (Representing Academic Programs and Services)
  9. Ms. Timberly Ngewakl - Senator (At-Large Representative)

“One of the priorities that we are focused on is the reaffirmation of the College’s accreditation,” said new Staff Senate President Floyd Masga. “We want to ensure that we are doing everything we can to prepare for the upcoming accreditation visit next month.”

Masga also said that he looks forward to working with the other Staff Senate members to build upon the work and progress that previous Staff Senate leaders have made.

The Staff Senate President, like the Faculty Senate President and the President of the Associated Students of NMC, sits on the College’s management team.

“Congratulations to Floyd and the others on their election to the Staff Senate,” said NMC President Dr. Sharon Hart. “The new senators all possess extensive experience and are all very much committed to NMC’s mission. I look forward to working with all of them.”

:::  Back to NMC News list  :::