Prospective StudentsInternational StudentCurrent StudentProa Portal

NMC Honor Society Inducts 11 New Members (October 30, 2014)

Beta Lambda Psi, the local chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society at Northern Marianas College, welcomed 11 new members to its rank. Four new members during its Spring Induction Ceremony on April 5, 2014, and 8 new members during its Fall Induction Ceremony on October 25, 2014, in the Latte Function Room in Kanoa Resort.

Hedwig Hofschneider, NMC’s College Access Challenge Grant (CACG) Outreach Counselor, delivered the keynote speech for the Spring Induction Ceremony. He spoke to the inductees about college completion. He advised the audience to take advantage of the opportunities afforded to everyone to go to, and graduate from, college. The CNMI is now a member of the Complete College America Alliance of States, a national nonprofit organization that works with states to significantly increase the number of Americans with quality career certificates or college degrees.

The Keynote Speaker for the Fall Induction Ceremony, U.S. Congressman Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan, spoke to the new inductees about the four watershed moments in the CNMI history that had far-reaching effects: choosing to become Americans by approving the Covenant, the formation of a constitutional government, the decision to liberalize local immigration law, and the decision to allow casino development. The main focus of his message was the importance of leadership. Kilili encouraged the inductees to take the lead as future leaders since they would be very involved in working through whatever problems and possibilities came from this new development. The inductees were told to set the example and encourage others. He concluded by expressing his confidence in their ability to be future leaders because of the strong academic record they had already achieved.

In order to qualify for membership in Phi Theta Kappa, students must distinguish themselves by maintaining a 3.5 cumulative grade point average, in addition to serving and contributing to our Commonwealth through various community service and leadership activities. The newest Full members include students: (4 members) Spring 2014: Jimin Cheon, Francis Fidelino, Patsylynn Mendiola, and Hyemin Lee. (7 members) Fall 2014: Verna Deleon Guerrero, Escoanne Hocog, Maisie Lynn Mesngon, Alexander Nario, Junhyun Park, Tracy Pelep, and Wei Wei. Also welcomed into the Chapter as new Provisional members for Spring 2014: Ervin Cruz, Zahra Frazier, and Jaelyn Maldangesang; and for Fall 2014: Angelray Guerrero.

Officers for the Academic Year 2014-2015 were recognized: President Nicole Sablan, Vice President Francis Fidelino, and Treasurer Hyemin Lee. New officers were officially installed: Recording Secretary Roy Alegre, Membership Secretary Junhyun Park, and Public Relations Officer Alexander Nario. The formal induction ceremony was followed by a buffet dinner.

An international organization, Phi Theta Kappa has recognized academic excellence, leadership, and service in two-year colleges since 1918. It is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1.5 million members and 1,200 chapters located in the 50 United States, U.S. territories, Canada, and Germany.

Phi Theta Kappa’s mission is two-fold: (1) to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students; and (2) to provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service and fellowship programming.

For additional information about the NMC chapter, its memberships, or activities, please contact chapter president Nicole Sablan, or advisor Leo Pangelinan for further information.

:::  Back to NMC News list  :::