Academic Council Meeting Minutes

Friday, August 30, 2024

Call to Order

A regular meeting of the Academic Council was held in room V-216 on Friday, August 30, 2024.

Voting members in attendance included Barbara Hunter, Beylul Solomon, Cary Bertoncini, Lisa Lunde, Kathy Winkfield, Kelsey McClellan, Neda Deleon Guerrero, Velma Deleon Guerrero, William Hunter, and Zerlyn Taimanao.

Voting members not in attendance: Jennifer Fejeran, Isabel Matsunaga, James Kline, and Johnny Aldan.

Non-voting members in attendance: Geraldine Rodgers

Guests: None

The meeting was called to order at 9:01 a.m.

Adoption of Agenda and Minutes

The agenda was presented to the Council by Interim Chair Velma Deleon Guerrero. Beylul Solomon requested that the minutes from the March 22, 2024, and April 5 meetings be tabled, as they were not yet finalized. Additionally, Velma Deleon Guerrero added a discussion about the Master's program and course guide review under the Announcements section. Beylul Solomon then made a motion to adopt the amended agenda, which was unanimously approved.

The minutes for the March 22nd, April 5th, and April 29th, 2024 meetings were tabled until the next meeting.

Announcements

A. The Academic Council has agreed to alternate meetings between Zoom and in-person formats. Meetings will be held every two weeks, with the next meeting scheduled to take place via Zoom. In addition, Velma Deleon Guerrero stated that she would like to invite the Program Coordinators via Zoom so they can attend the meetings. She wanted to ensure that they were included in institutional matters so that accreditation wouldn't flag the Council for not having them included. Beylul Solomon suggested providing Rota and Tinian representatives with Zoom links for meetings that would be held face to face, and Council members agreed.

Reports

A. None.

Old Business

A. Self-study Review starting January 2024. Recommendation for periodic review every 3 years. The Academic Council members have divided the responsibilities of reviewing the

self-study report. Council members decided to stay in the sections they worked on in the prior self-study, and new AC members were added to various sections as follows:

- a. Membership and Organization Jennifer Fejeran, Barbara Hunter, and Neda Deleon Guerrero
- b. Professionalism and Integrity Will Hunter, Zerlyn Taimanao, and Cary Bertoncini. Will Hunter will reach out to James Kline to see if he's willing to participate unless Dean Lorraine appoints an SSFA representative to replace him.
- c. Governance and Responsibility Beylul Solomon, Velma Deleon Guerrero, Geraldine Rodgers. Interim Chair Velma Deleon Guerrero will contact Ms. Rosa Aldan to appoint one of her faculty members as the Nursing representative on the Academic Council.
- d. Procedures Lisa Lunde, Kathleen Winkfield, and Kelsey McClellan.
- B. AC Bylaws. Is there a need to update? Last updated Spring of 2021.
 - a. The Academic Council focused on forming the membership for this academic year. The current bylaws state that Academic Unit Heads select a faculty member from its program/department to serve on the Council for 2 years to align with faculty contracts. At-large faculty members are selected by the Faculty Senate. The instructional faculty representatives and voting members for the 2024-2025 academic year are:
 - i. Language & Humanities Cary Bertoncini
 - ii. Social Science & Fine Arts James Kline
 - 1. Velma Deleon Guerrero will reach out to Dean Lorraine Maui to determine whether she will appoint a new SSFA representative or if Dr. Kline will continue in that role.
 - iii. Science, Math, Health, & Athletics Kathleen Winkfield
 - iv. School of Business Barbara Hunter
 - v. Nursing Johnny Aldan
 - 1. Velma DLG will contact Rosa Aldan to confirm whether she will appoint a new Nursing representative or if Johny Aldan will continue in that role.
 - vi. School of Education Beylul Solomon
 - b. The two at-large instructional faculty representatives are Lisa Lunde and, formerly, Beylul Solomon. Kelsey McClellan, who was nominated to be a Faculty Senate member, will inquire with the Faculty Senate officers about who they will appoint as the new at-large member on the Academic Council.
 - c. Neda Deleon Guerrero is the interim Director of Learning Support Services.
 - d. Isabel Matsunaga is the Registrar.
 - i. Velma will contact Interim Director of Enrollment Services, Jennifer Fejeran, to confirm whether Isabel will continue in the role of Registrar.
 - e. William Hunter is the Coordinator for Distance Learning Education.
 - f. The three program coordinators are as follows: Velma Deleon Guerrero for Liberal Arts, Zerlyn Taimanao for Criminal Justice, and Kelsey McClellan for Natural Resource Management.
 - g. Non-Voting Members are:
 - i. Director of Library Programs and Services Mathew Pastula
 - ii. Director of the Office of Institutional Effectiveness Vilma Reyes
 - iii. Assessment Specialist Geraldine Rodgers

- iv. Director of Enrollment Services Jennifer Fejeran
- v. Director of Information Technology Renedel Buno
- vi. President of the Associated Students of Northern Marianas College (ASNMC) or an Officer of ASNMC designated by the ASNMC President – Bonnie Gio Sagana
- vii. Rota Program Coordinator Diana Hocog
- viii. Tinian Program Coordinator Maria Aguon
- ix. One representative from CREES Patricia Coleman
- h. There was also discussion on voting in new AC members to serve as Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary. Velma Deleon Guerrero announced that Beylul Solomon would be stepping down as the Secretary and thanked her for her 8 years serving as Secretary. She asked the Council to nominate members for each position.
 - i. Chair: Zerlyn Taimanao nominated Velma Deleon Guerrero to continue serving as Chair. Velma Deleon Guerrero stated that she would accept the nomination. However, she reiterated that a full-time faculty member needs to be in the position, but she would continue to serve as Chair until one was appointed. Kelsey McClellan asked whether Ajani Burrell would return as the Chair and Velma Deleon Guerrero stated that since he is the Chair of the Language & Humanities department it would be the same issue. Further discussion resulted in the Council agreeing to reach out to the Faculty Senate to recommend a full-time faculty member to serve as the Chair of Academic Council and that Council members would vote on the nomination.
 - ii. Vice Chair: Beylul Solomon nominated Lisa Lunde and Velma Deleon Guerrero nominated Zerlyn Taimanao to serve as Vice Chair. Council members voted in Lisa Lunde as Vice Chair and she accepted the nomination.
 - iii. Secretary: Beylul Solomon nominated Geri Rodgers and Kelsey McClellan for this position. Kelse McClellan accepted the nomination and was voted in to serve as AC Secretary.
 - iv. Velma Deleon Guerrero informed Council members that she would not be announcing the new selected officers until the Faculty Senate had selected an at-large representative and also recommended a full-time faculty member for AC Chair. She stated that announcements would be made once those two positions are filled.
 - v. Velma Deleon Guerrero also asked members to notify their departments to send in course guides that they would like to have reviewed.
 - 1. Beylul Solomon stated that the Needs Assessment for the M.S. in Clinical Mental Health Counseling was completed as requested by the Council. She added that she would send the needs assessment to Velma Deleon Guerrero who would then send it to the Council for review.

New Business

A. None

Course Guides and Individualized Degree Plans for Review

A. None.

Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 9:40 a.m.

Beylul Solomon

Secretary

Date of approval