Northern Marianas College (NMC)’s Regent Nominating Committee is seeking two (2) prospective individuals to serve as members of its Board of Regents. This prestigious position offers a unique opportunity to contribute to the strategic direction and governance of the College. We invite applications from individuals with diverse backgrounds and experiences who are passionate about higher education and committed to advancing the College’s mission of cultivating stewardship through scholarship.

Read More


The latest news from Northern Marianas College

Sixty students from the Northern Marianas College pledged to distinguish themselves through academic excellence by contributing to the community and the Commonwealth through various community service and leadership activities as new members and officers of the Beta Lambda Psi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa or PTK International Honor Society.

The new members of the PTK Honor Society were inducted on Thursday, October 19, 2023 at the American Memorial Park Museum Theater, congregating a total of 417 members in Phi Theta Kappa since it was revitalized back in 2019.

In order to qualify for membership in Phi Theta Kappa, students must distinguish themselves by maintaining a 3.5 cumulative grade point average, in addition to serving and contributing to the community through various community service and leadership activities. 

“Since the revitalization of our local chapter five years ago, NMC has prioritized the recognition of our hard-working students and developing them for success. Our goal is to continue to encourage our students to work hard and embrace the pillars of scholarship, leadership, fellowship, and service in our community. I am so excited for our ‘kappans’ to connect and grow both personally and professionally as they finish their degrees and become contributing members of our CNMI workforce,” said PTK advisor Kaelani Demapan.

The PTK honor society also inducted its new officers: Mary-Jo Camacho (president), Sharon Paek (vice president), Rumina “Mina” Litulumar (treasurer), Bonnie “Gio” Sagana (secretary), Hannah Agulto (membership secretary), and Ejay Aguirre (public relations secretary).

“On behalf of the 2023-2024 Phi Theta Kappa officers, I’d like to extend our sincerest congratulations to this year’s batch of PTK inductees,” said PTK president Mary-Jo Camacho.

“This is a monumental achievement in one’s college career, and we are so glad to have been able to recognize and celebrate each and every one of you. Your dedication and hard work have earned you a well-deserved place in this prestigious honor society, and I look forward to witnessing your continuing success," Camacho added.

Additionally, Phi Theta Kappa recognized their golden opportunity scholars, Richard Baleares, Clark Jonas Cabang, Jefferson Roe Cunanan, Linson Bill Manahan, Clarissa King, as well as their honorary member, Mr. William Hunter, for his unwavering support, tireless effort, and dedicated service as an advisor for five consecutive years.

“The entire NMC Proa Tribe commends our newest PTK inductees for their extraordinary accomplishments. Being a member PTK goes beyond academic achievement, as this honor society calls for service above self. It is my hope that our PTK students serve as stewards both within our campus and around our community,” said NMC President Galvin Deleon Guerrero, EdD.

Established by Missouri two-year college presidents in 1918, the PTK Honor Society serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership, and service programming.

Currently, PTK is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 3.5 million members and 1,275 chapters located in fifty United States and territories as well as Canada and Germany.